MTN8 record goalscorers: Which PSL stars make the top 10?

MTN8 record goalscorers: Which PSL stars make the top 10?
Photo by Icon sport

The MTN8 2023 is in the semi-final stage, with Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns clashing, with the winner of the tie getting a place in the final.

The other semi-finalists are defending champions Orlando Pirates and Stellenbosch.

For the uninitiated, the MTN8 is the cup competition for the top eight teams in the PSL, with this year’s edition taking place between August and October.

The competition has produced many goalscorers since its existence, which makes it the essence of this piece – Who are the record goalscorers of the MTN8?

We will limit our scope to the competition when it became known as MTN8.

The cup competition was launched in 1972 and was known as BP Top 8 between 1972 and 2002.

It became known as SAA Super 8 between 2003 and 2007 before arriving at its current name.

Who are the top scorers in the 2023 edition?

With the competition in its semi-final stage, there have been several goal scorers in the tournament.

Zakhele Lepasa (Orlando Pirates) currently tops the goalscorers chart in this edition.

Lepasa has three goals to his name and is the only player to have scored more than one goal in the MTN8 2023 edition.

He scored a hat trick as Orlando Pirates beat Sekhukune United 5-0.

MTN8 top 10 record scorers

Bradley Grobler (6)

mtn8 Bradley Grobler
Photo by Icon sport

Bradley Allan Grobler started his football career with Platinum Stars. The 35-year-old striker plays for SuperSport United, where he has spent most of his playing career.

He has also played for Turkish second-division side Göztepe A.Ş. He was the most expensive signing for the club.

Grobler scored the MTN8 final winning goal that helped SuperSport United win the trophy in 2019. He has won the title twice – 2017 and 2019.

Khama Billiat (6)

MTN8 khama billiat
Photo by Icon sport

The last club Khama Billiat played for was Kaizer Chiefs. After the expiration of his contract last season, Billiat departed the club.

There are reports that the Zimbabwean forward has signed for Zamalek of Egypt.

The former Mamelodi Sundowns forward last scored in the tournament in a 2-2 draw against his former club. Sundowns won the game 4-3 on penalties.

Lehlohonolo Majoro (5)

mtn8 majoro
Photo by Icon sport

Majoro has played for several top clubs in South Africa. He started his career with Amazulu, then traversed through Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Cape Town City FC, and Bidvest Wits before returning to Amazulu.

Majoro came on as a substitute to score the winning goal in the 2-1 quarter-final win over Cape Town City FC.

The 37-year-old forward is currently without a club after his last contract expired.

Bernard Parker (5)

mtn8 Bernard parker
Photo by Icon sport

Bernard Parker started his career with Thanda Royal Zulu. The 37-year-old would later find himself at Kaizer Chiefs.

Parker spent 11 years at Kaizer Chiefs before moving to his TS Galaxy.

Parker last scored in the MTN8, when he scored in the Kaizer Chiefs 2-2 draw with Sundowns. They lost the game 4-3 on penalties.

Daine Klate (5)

mtn8 diane klate
Photo by Icon sport

With five goals to his name, Diane Klate is the second-highest all-time top scorer in the tournament. Diane Klate last played for Chippa United before calling it quits with the game.

The former South African winger retired after 16 years in the game. He had 13 international caps and one goal for the Bafana Bafana.

Mogakolodi Ngele (4)

The former Sundowns and SuperSport United midfielder currently plays for Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila.

Ngele won the tournament with Platinum Stars in 2013 and is close to retirement. The 32-year-old does not have many more years to play.

The Botswana international has 35 caps for the Zebras and scored four goals.

Monnapule Saleng (4)

mtn8 saleng
Photo by Icon sport

Saleng has the potential to score more than six goals in the tournament.

The 25-year-old South African international has still got time on his side. He was on loan to Moroka Swallows in the 2021-22 season.

He was the top scorer in the 2020–21 National First Division, scoring 13 goals in 29 matches, and was named MTN last man standing and player's player of the season in the 2022-23 season.

Jeremy Brockie (4)

The 35-year-old New Zealand international currently plays for Edgeworth Eagles in Australia.

After many years in the Australian League, he joined MLS side Toronto FC before joining SuperSport United.

Brockie also played for Mamelodi Sundowns and Maritzburg United before returning to Australia.

Zakhele Lepasa (4)

mtn8 lepasa
Photo by Icon sport

Lepasa, also known as The Assassinator, jumped up the rankings following his hat trick against Sekhukune United.

He scored the only goal of the 2019 Nedbank Cup Final against Kaizer Chiefs, making TS Galaxy the first side outside of South Africa's top tier to win the competition.

He won the Player of the Tournament award and was the top scorer in the competition.

He has 50 caps for New Zealand and scored one goal.

Only nine players have scored four goals or more in the MTN8.

There is a long list of players with three goals. They include Kermit Erasmus, Mandla Masango, Oupa Manyisa, Bennett Chenene and Nathan Paulse.

Others are Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Robert Ng'ambi, Getaneh Kebede, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Ndumiso Mabena and Lerato Chabangu.

The list is completed by:

  • Henrico Botes
  • Ghampani Lungu
  • Themba Zwane
  • Lennox Bacela
  • Thembinkosi Fanteni
  • Thamsanqa Gabuza
  • George Lebese
  • Teko Modise
  • Siphelele Mthembu
  • George Maluleka

This article was most recently revised and updated 8 months ago

Chooka Izuegbuna is a Sports Journalist with 20 years of experience in print, TV and Radio. He has worked with some of the top media houses in Nigeria, including NTA Network, Channels TV, TVC, Silverbird TV and MITV. Chooka broke his sports reporting teeth with The Game Football Weekly in 2003 as a cartoonist and reporter. Chooka has a passion for football and has been a fan of Enugu Rangers (over 30 years) and Real Madrid (Since 1996).