Nigeria Sports Award 2019 FULL Winners’ List

Nigeria Sports Award 2019 Winners

The 8th edition of the Nigerian Sports Awards (NSA) event went down at the Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos on Friday of 29th November 2019.

As usual, outstanding sports personalities in various disciplines were recognized in the Gala that was held at the Jasmine Hall of the 5-Star hotel.

The 2019 edition attracted more than 35 million general public votes, a massive leap from the previous editions.

There was an increased voter record for all shortlisted categories according to the event organizers.

A total of 16 award categories were up for grabs where different voting platforms were provided for the general public to participate in the exercise.

Categories for this year’s event included: Individual Sports Person of the Year, Team Sports Person of the year, Footballer of the year, Basketball Player of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Coach of the year, Sports Administrator of the Year, Athletic Star of the Year, Racket Sports Person of the Year, Team of the Year, Para-Sports Person of the Year, Sports Man of the Year, and the Sports Woman of the Year.

Nigeria is a known soccer powerhouse, and fans could not wait to see who went home with the award for the country’s Footballer of the Year.

 It was no surprise when Odion Ighalo’s name was called out to receive the award.

Ighalo saw off strong competition from Super Falconets striker Asisat Oshoala and Eagles youngster Samuel Chukwueze.

See Also | Jay Jay Okocha Biography: What Everyone Ought To Know

The exclusive Nigeria Sports Award 2019 list of eventual winners:

  1. Footballer of the year – Odion Ighalo
  2. Athlete of the year – Ese Brume
  3. Sports Person of the year – Ese Brume
  4. Team of the Year – D’Tigress
  5. Sports Journalist of the year – Dare Kuti
  6. Sports Photo Journalist of the year – Modo Victor
  7. Weightlifter of the year – Emmanuel Appah
  8. Discovery of the year – Foloshade Lawal
  9. Team Sports Person of the year – Farouk Yusuf
  10. Racket Sports Person of the year – Anuoluwapo Opeyori
  11. Wrestler of the year – Odunayo Adekuruoye
  12. Basketball Player of the year – Evelyn Akhator
  13. Para-Sports Person of the year – Bose Omolayo
  14. Coach of the year – Christopher Nwadei
  15. Sports Administrator of the year (Badminton) – Onome Obruthe
  16. Sports Administrator of the year (Handball) – Sam Ocheho
Follow GoalBall across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *