Stadiums in Nigeria: All 62 Listed with Capacity and Home Teams

Stadiums in Nigeria: All 62 Listed with Capacity and Home Teams
Credit: Iconsport

It is believed that a proper national stadium is the measure of a country’s love for the sport of football and while Nigeria stadiums fall short in this area, the love for the game cannot be denied. As iconic as football teams and jerseys are, the grounds they play in are even more iconic. Like the Spotify Camp Nou in Spain, or the Wembley National Stadium in London, or the Maracana, the world’s biggest and most iconic stadium.

Still, there are Nigeria stadiums that make fans of Nigerian football proud and this is a list of all 62 of them.

SEE ALSO | African Footballer Of The Year Winners: Listed From 1970 Till Date

List of Stadiums in Nigeria

There are two National stadiums in Nigeria; one in Abuja the Federal Capital Territory and one in Lagos, where most of the country’s development started from. They are both under the jurisdiction of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF). However, the Onikan Stadium, now known as the Mobolaji Johnson Arena, is the oldest ground in the land.

The Mobolaji Johnson Arena is a multi-purpose stadium in Lagos. Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu, in 2019, renamed the Stadium during a ‘Day of Honour’ event organised to celebrate the exit of the first Military Governor of Lagos State, Brigadier-General Mobolaji Johnson.

It is currently used for football matches and it is the home stadium of various Lagos teams, most notably Ikorodu United F.C., Stationery Stores F.C., First Bank and Julius Berger FC. Onikan Stadium has a capacity of 10,000 people and is also used for social and political events.

The original stadium was built in 1930 on Lagos Island near Tafewa Balewa Square. And six years later it was named after King George V. But then again, between 1963 and 1973, it was rechristened as the Lagos City Stadium, a name which it bore until the change by Governor Sanwo-Olu.

These are the Nigeria stadiums which serve the various clubs as well as the Nigeria national football team, the Super Eagles. See the full list below.

SEE ALSO | FIFA Licensed Agents In Nigeria: Steps On How To Find Genuine Ones

Stadium Name City/State Year Built Capacity Main User(s)
Moshood Abiola Stadium Abuja, FCT 2003 60,491 National Stadium
Surulere Stadium Lagos 1972 45,000 Cowrie RFC
Jos International Stadium Jos, Plateau 2019 44,000 Plateau United
Adokiye Amiesimaka Stadium Port Harcourt, Rivers 2015 38,000 Dolphins FC
Muhammadu Dikko Stadium Katsina 2013 35,000 Katsina United
Godswill Akpabio Stadium Uyo, Akwa Ibom 2014 30,000 Nigeria Super Eagles, NFF
Jalingo City Stadium Taraba, Jalingo 2006 30,000 Taraba FC
Obafemi Awolowo Stadium Ibadan, Oyo 1960 25,000 NFF, NPFL
U.J. Esuene Stadium Calabar, Cross River 1977 25,000 Calabar Rovers
Teslim Balogun Stadium Lagos 2007 24,235 First Bank FC
Stephen Keshi Stadium Asaba, Delta 2018 22,000 Nigeria Super Eagles, NFF
Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium Enugu 1959 21,000 Enugu Rangers
Lokoja Confluence Stadium Lokoja, Kogi 2013 20,000 Kogi United
Warri Township Stadium Warri, Delta 20,000 Warri Wolves
Otunba Dipo Dina Int'l Stadium Ijebu-Ode, Ogun 20,000 FC Ebedei
M.K.O. Abiola Stadium Abeokuta, Ogun 20,000 Gateway United FC
Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium Benin, Edo 1983 20,000 Bendel Insurance FC
Kwara State Stadium Ilorin, Kwara 18,000 Kwara United
Lekan Salami Stadium Ibadan, Oyo 18,000 Shooting Stars SC
Gateway International Stadium Sagamu, Ogun 2010 17,000 FC Ebedei
Enyimba Sports Stadium Aba, Abia 1992 16,000 Enyimba International FC
Yakubu Gowon Stadium Port Harcourt, Rivers 2001 16,000 Dolphins FC
Sani Abacha Stadium Kano 1982 18,000 Kano Pillars FC
Ahmadu Bello Stadium Kaduna 1965 16,000 Kaduna United FC
Sapele Township Stadium Sapele, Delta 16,000 Bayelsa United FC
Akure Township Stadium Akure, Ondo 15,000 Sunshine Stars FC
Aper Aku Stadium Makurdi, Benue 15,000 Lobi Stars FC
Rwang Pam Stadium Jos, Plateau 15,000 Plateau United
J.S. Tarka Stadium Gboko, Benue 15,000 BCC Lions
Ozoro Polytechnic Stadium Ozoro, Delta 2016 18,000 Exhibition Stadium
A.T. Balewa Stadium Bauchi 1985 12,000 Wikki Tourists
Ilaro Stadium Ilaro, Ogun 2008 12,000 Gateway United FC
Chuba Ikpeazu Stadium Onitsha, Anambra 2009 12,000 Anambra Pillars FC
Ranchers Bees Stadium Kaduna 10,000 Ranchers Bees
Sharks Stadium Port Harcourt, Rivers 10,000 Sharks FC
El Kanemi Stadium Maiduguri, Borno 10,000 El Kanemi Warriors
Dan Anyiam Stadium Owerri, Imo 10,000 Heartland FC
Pantami Stadium Gombe 2010 10,000 Gombe United
Abubakar Umar Memorial Stadium Gombe 10,000 Exhibition Stadium
Rojenny Stadium Oba, Anambra 10,000 Exhibition Stadium
Dutse Stadium Dutse, Jigawa 10,000 Jigawa Golden Stars
Kwale Mini Sports Stadium Kwale, Delta 10,000 Delta United
Osogbo Stadium Osogbo, Osun 10,000 Prime FC
Awka City Stadium Awka, Anambra 2021 3,000 Edel FC
Zaria Township Stadium Zaria, Kaduna 10,000 Kaduna United FC
FC Ifeanyi Ubah International Stadium Nnewi, Anambra 18,000 FC Ifeanyi Ubah
Muda Lawal Stadium Abeokuta, Ogun 10,000 Exhibition Stadium
Mobolaji Johnson Arena Lagos 1930 10,000 Ikorodu United FC, Stationery Stores F.C. First Bank F.C., Julius Berger FC
Agege Stadium Lagos 4,000 MFM FC, Bridge FC, Pepsi Football Academy, Nigeria women's national under-17 football team, DreamStar FC Ladies.
Gabros Stadium Nnewi, Anambra 3,000 Gabros International
Yenagoa Township Stadium Yenagoa, Bayelsa 5,000 Ocean Boys FC, Bayelsa United
Uyo Township Stadium Uyo, Akwa Ibom 5,000 Akwa United F.C.
Umuahia Township Stadium Umuahia, Abia 5,000 Abia Warriors F.C., Abia Comets
Ughelli Township Stadium Ughelli, Delta 2002 5,000 Ocean Boys FC
Jay Jay Okocha Stadium Ogwashi-Uku, Delta 8,000 Delta Force F.C.
Katsina Township Stadium Katsina 5,000 Exhibition Stadium
Lafia Township Stadium Lafia, Nasarawa 5,000 Nasarawa United
Sardauna Memorial Stadium Gusau, Zamfara 5,000 Zamfara United F.C.
Minna Township Stadium Minna, Niger 5,000 Niger Tornadoes
Kano Pillars Stadium Kano 26,000 Kano Pillars
Oghara Township Stadium Oghara, Delta 8,000 Ocean Boys F.C., Bayelsa United
Old Parade Ground Abuja, FCT 5,000 Abuja F.C.
Oyo Township Stadium Oyo 5,000 Atiba F.C.
Ebedi City Stadium Iseyin, Oyo 5,000 Iseyin FC
Nsukka Township Stadium Nsukka, Enugu 5,000 Exhibition Stadium

Quick Facts About Nigeria Stadiums

  • Only 18 of the 65 stadiums in Nigeria are over 20,000 capacity.
  • The preferred ground of the Nigeria national football team, the Super Eagles, is the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo, Akwa Ibom but the national stadiums are in Lagos and Abuja.
  • The Jay Jay Okocha Stadium was renamed in 2008 in honour of the former Super Eagles midfielder and captain to honour his contributions to Nigerian and African football.
  • Multiple clubs in Nigeria share one stadium. There are over 300 clubs in the country. See the full list here.

SEE ALSO | Most Handsome Nigerian Footballers – See The Top 10

This article was most recently revised and updated 11 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!