Football Clubs In Nigeria: See The Detailed List (2021)

list of football clubs in nigeria

I was in search of a comprehensive list of football clubs in Nigeria on the internet to buttress a point I was trying to make on another article, but none of the results Google search returned gave me what I wanted.

What did I do?

I knew if I was finding it difficult to get a list of Nigerian football teams then someone else could just be experiencing the same thing!

So I dug more into researching, made a couple of calls and came up with my own complete list of football clubs in Nigeria.

See the Nigerian football teams I came up with below:

SEE ALSO: Richest Footballer In Africa – See The Top 10 & Their Net Worth

Names of Football Clubs in Nigeria

  • Abia Comets
  • Abia Warriors F.C.
  • Abiola Babes
  • ABS F.C.
  • Abuja F.C.
  • ACB Lagos
  • Adamawa United F.C.
  • Akpor United F.C.
  • Akwa Starlets FC
  • Akwa United F.C.
  • Anambra Pillars F.C.
  • Anambra United F.C.
  • Apa United FC
  • Babanawa F.C.
  • Bayelsa United F.C.
  • BCC Lions
  • Bendel Insurance F.C.
  • Bridge Boys F.C.
  • Bussdor United F.C.
  • bravos knights F.C
  • C.O.D United football club of Lagos
  • Calabar Rovers
  • Crown F.C.
  • Cynosure FC of Ebonyi state
  • Dalhatu United
  • DSS FC
  • DaltaForce fc
  • El-Kanemi Warriors
  • Enugu Rangers
  • Enyimba International F.C.
  • Esan F.C.
  • First Bank F.C.
  • Fountain FC
  • Gateway United F.C.
  • Giwa FC
  • Go Round F.C.
  • Gombe United F.C.
  • Heartland F.C.
  • Ifeanyi Ubah F.C
  • Ikorodu United F.C.
  • Ilesa Dynamos F.C.
  • FC Inter Enugu
  • Jasper United
  • Jigawa Golden Stars F.C.
  • JUTH F.C.
  • Kada City F.C.
  • Kaduna United F.C.
  • Kano Pillars F.C.
  • Kogi United
  • Kwara United F.C.
  • Knights F.C. Ife
  • Leventis United
  • Lobi Stars F.C.
  • MFM FC
  • Mighty Jets F.C.
  • My People FC
  • NAF Rockets F.C.
  • Nasarawa United F.C.
  • Nembe City F.C.
  • NEPA Lagos
  • New Nigeria Bank F.C.
  • Niger Tornadoes F.C.
  • NITEL Vasco Da Gama F.C.
  • Oasis Football Club
  • Ocean Boys F.C.
  • Owazi F.C
  • Plateau United F.C.
  • Prime F.C.
  • Racca Rovers
  • Ranchers Bees FC
  • Remo FC
  • Rising Stars F.C.
  • Rivers United F.C.
  • Sharks F.C.
  • Shooting Stars SC
  • Sokoto United
  • Spotlight F.C.
  • Stationery Stores F.C.
  • Sunshine Stars F.C.
  • Super 11 F.C.
  • Taraba F.C.
  • Udoji United F.C.
  • Union Bank F.C.
  • Warri Wolves F.C.
  • Westside F.C.
  • Wikki Tourists F.C.
  • Wolonso United F.C.
  • Yankari Babes FC
  • Zabgai Fc of bauchi
  • Zamfara United F.C.

SEE ALSO: Top 10 Nigeria Football News Sites – Only The Best Sites Listed

Although not all the football clubs in Nigeria that I listed above plays in the Nigerian Premier League.

As you’d expect, some of them play in the lower divisions.

Let me give you a breakdown.

Football clubs in Nigeria are divided into 4 different divisions, depending on their performances. 

The first one is the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) AKA 1st league.

The second one is the Nigerian National League (NNL) AKA 2nd league. 

The third one is the Nigeria Division 1 AKA 3rd League.

The last one is the Nigeria Division 2 AKAK League 4.

Up to 19 different clubs make up the NPL while 16 clubs make up the NNL.

Only 6 clubs are in the Nigeria Division 1 and only 2 teams are in the Nigeria Division 2.

SEE ALSO | Top 5 Football Clubs With The Most Fans In Nigeria

NPL teams

The Nigeria premier league was founded in 2003 and is managed by the League Management Company (LMC).

Football clubs in Nigeria that make the first three slots in the NNL are fed into the NPL, while the last three clubs on the premier league table are relegated to the NNL.

Lobi Stars are currently champions of the 2017-18 Nigeria Professional Football League season.

Though Enugu Rangers and Enyimba International FC are the two football clubs in Nigeria that have won the NPL title the most times.

SEE ALSO: Midas Football Academy: Registration & How To Join FULLY Detailed

Here are the 19 Nigeria premier league teams:

  1. Kano Pillars
  2. Enyimba Aba
  3. Warri Wolves
  4. Giwa FC
  5. Nasarawa United
  6. Lobi Stars Makurdi
  7. Abia Warriors
  8. Enugu Rangers International
  9. Dolphins Port Harcourt
  10. Heartland Owerri
  11. Sunshine Stars Akure
  12. Taraba FC
  13. Port Harcourt Sharks
  14. El-Kanemi Warriors Maiduguri
  15. Bayelsa United
  16. Akwa United Uyo
  17. Gombe United
  18. Crown FC Ogbomoso
  19. Kaduna United

SEE ALSO | RANKED: Richest Football Club In Nigeria – The Top Five

Here are the 16 Nigeria national league teams:

  1. Abuja FC
  2. Bendel Insurance
  3. First bank Lagos
  4. Gabros International Nnewi
  5. Gateway United Abeokuta
  6. Kwara United
  7. MFM FC Lagos
  8. Mighty Jets Jos
  9. Niger Tornadoes Minna
  10. Plateau United
  11. Prime FC Oshogbo
  12. Ranchers Bees Kaduna
  13. Shooting Stars SC Ibadan
  14. Stationery Stores Lagos
  15. UniCem Rovers Calabar
  16. Wikki Tourists Bauchi

SEE ALSO | Football Clubs In Lagos: All The 189 Clubs Listed

Here are the 6 clubs in Nigeria Division 1 club:

  1. Bussdor United Owerri
  2. City of David United Lagos
  3. Court of Appeal Abuja
  4. Dynamite Force Benin City
  5. FC Ebedei Ijebu Ode
  6. Rising Star Akure

SEE ALSO: Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer: Complete List (1990 Till Date)

Nigeria Division 2 clubs are just 2 in number

They are highlighted below:

  1. My People Lagos
  2. Yerima Strikers

That's it!

Those are the Nigerian football teams. But you can also check out the list of Female Football Clubs In Nigeria that I made.

This article was most recently revised and updated 1 year ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here