2022 AFCONQ: Five S’Eagles Players Confirmed To Miss Benin Republic Tie

Nigeria could be without some of its regular stars based in England and South Africa when she takes on Benin Republic in the Cameroon 2022 AFCON qualifier.

Alex Iwobi, William Troost-Ekong, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ola Aina and goalkeeper, Daniel Akpeyi are among the players to be missed.

Going by the current NCDC rules, players coming from outside the country, especially England and South Africa, must be tested for COVID-19 and quarantined for a long period of time before being integrated to the society.

The Super Eagles will tackle the Squirrels on March 22 in a game they need a draw to qualify for next year’s African Cup of Nations.

However, since the NCDC has continued to stand its ground on the COVID-19 protocols on South Africa and United Kingdom passengers, the Nigeria Football Federation, Director Media, Ademola Olajire, said the NFF was monitoring situations, as the days go by to fashion out modalities that will ensure the Super Eagles successful prosecute the AFCON qualifier against Benin Republic without any hitches.

Super Eagles will be facing Lesotho in their last game of the AFCON qualifier on March 30.

SEE ALSO | Osaze Odemwingie Accuses Kanu Nwankwo's Wife, Amara

Nigeria leads Group L table of the AFCON with eight points ahead of Benin, which has seven points while Sierra Leone and Lesotho are on three and two respectively.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago

Oseg has been a writer since 2013. His passion for helping people in all aspects of sports flow through in the expert coverage he provides in writing for GoalBall.