PSL winners list – Which team has the most titles?

Can you guess the club with the most PSL titles?
Credit: Icon Sport

The PSL winners list is a hot topic for followers of the league.

In every league in the world, often, the challenge is for which team has won the most titles, scored the most goals and achieved the most records. It gives the fans the kicks and keeps bringing them to the various stadia.

In South Africa, it is no different. Fans are always looking at the PSL league winners list for bragging rights.

The South African Premier Division, or the Professional Soccer League (PSL) as it is known, is an attractive and exciting football league.

Sponsorship for the PSL is by DSTV and referred to as the DSTV Premiership. It has been in existence since 1996.

PSL winners list: The team with the most titles

Competition in the PSL is stiff, and a great rivalry exists among a few teams. Three teams have always been at the forefront of winning the title. They are Kaizer Chiefs, Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates.

As a punter, It is common knowledge that the safest bet to win the PSL is to put it on any of these three teams.

In perusing the PSL league winners list, one team has consistently maintained a stranglehold on the competition, while the other teams hold sway in the cups.

In the DSTV Premiership, Mamelodi Sundowns hold sway, sitting atop the PSL league winners list. The defending champions have won more titles than any other team since it kicked off in 1996. The Brazilians have 13 and have won nine more than their closest rivals Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates.

PSL winners list

Which PSL club has the most titles?
Credit: Icon Sport

Mamelodi Sundowns (13 titles)

2023, 2022, 2021, 2020, 2019, 2018, 2016, 2014, 2007, 2006, 2000, 1999, 1998,

Kaizer Chiefs (4 titles)

2015, 2013, 2005, 2004

Orlando Pirates (4 titles)

2012, 2011, 2003, 2001

SuperSport United (3 titles)

2010, 2009, 2008

Manning Rangers (1 title)


If you add the titles before the commencement of the DSTV Premiership, then Mamelodi Sundowns goes further up the PSL league winners list.

  • 1995 Cape Town Spurs
  • 1994 Orlando Pirates
  • 1993 Mamelodi Sundowns
  • 1992 Kaizer Chiefs
  • 1991 Kaizer Chiefs
  • 1990 Mamelodi Sundowns
  • 1989 Kaizer Chiefs
  • 1988 Mamelodi Sundowns
  • 1987 Jomo Cosmos
  • 1986 Manning Rangers
  • 1985 Bush Bucks FC

The most successful club in South Africa

Guess the most successful club in the PSL
Credit: Icon Sport

In the PSL, Mamelodi Sundowns tops the list, but they are not the most decorated club in the country. The award for the most decorated goes to Amakhosi. They may be far behind Sundowns on the PSL league winners list, but they have won more titles than the Brazilians.

Kaizer Chiefs have won 93 official and unofficial trophies in their 47-year history. Let us look at the two most vital titles they have won.

The Nedbank Cup, which follows the format of the English FA Cup, has been won more times by the Amakhosi than any other club. They have won it 13 times, while the current champions, Orlando Pirates, are in second with nine and Mamelodi Sundowns with six.

Kaizer Chiefs have also won the MTN 8 more than any other club. Amakhosi have 1 title, and closely on their heels are the current champions, Orlando Pirates. The Buccaneers have won the MTN 8 11 times, while Mamelodi Sundowns has four.

Other clubs to have won the MTN 8 include Moroka Swallows, Bidvest Wits and SuperSport United. They all won it thrice.

Amakhosi are also one of only three teams in South Africa to win a CAF competition. In 2001, the Amakhosi won the Cup Winners Cup (the CAF Confederations Cup).

Mamelodi Sundowns also won the CAF Champions League and Super Cup, while in 1995, the CAF Champions League went to Orlando Pirates. The Buccaneers also secured victory in the CAF Super Cup in 1996.

This article was most recently revised and updated 2 months ago

No posts to display


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here