Date set for CAF Awards 2023, with Osimhen set to beat Salah

Date set for CAF Awards 2023, with Osimhen set to beat Salah
Credit: Icon Sport

CAF is set to honour Victor Osimhen with the award for the best player of the year on 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco.

The Super Eagles front man will cap a fine year with the CAF award which no Nigerian player has been able to claim for many years. This follows his recognition as the eighth best player in the world at the Ballon d'Or awards ceremony on 30 October 2023.

He is set to beat other impressive African players in 2023, including Liverpool and Egypt's talisman Mohamed Salah, who was the recipient of the 2017 and 2018 awards.

ICONSPORT 74332883
Credit: Icon Sport

CAF awards 2023 nominees and categories

The CAF awards is organised yearly by the Confederation of African Football to recognise African players at home and in the diaspora for their achievements in football for that year.

At the ceremony, the following categories are going to be awarded:

  • CAF African Player of the Year
  • CAF African Woman Player of the Year
  • CAF Interclub Player of the Year
  • CAF Interclub Women's Player of the Year
  • CAFYoung Player of the Year
  • CAF National Team of the Year
  • CAF Coach of the Year
  • CAF Club of the Year
  • Goal of the Year.

Leading the biggest prize nominations is Nigeria national football team forward Victor Osimhen, who created history by leading Italian to their first Serie A title in the past 33 years. Salah, Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Al-Ahli) and Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Al-Hilal) make up the nominations.

Sadio ManΓ©, the current holder of the award, is nowhere near the notifications unlike Asisat Oshoala, who won the 2022 award and went on to have a great season at Barcelona.

CAF is excited to return to Morocco for the awards after the North African nation put on a brilliant show in Rabat, its capital city.

CAF African Player of the Year previous winners

Victor Osimhen is set to become the first Nigeria national football team player since Nwankwo Kanu in 1999. The Napoli front man will be breaking a 23-year old duck when he attends his first ever CAF awards.

Here are the winners since 1999 when ‘Papilo' emerged winner.

  • 2022 – Sadio Mane
  • 2019 – Sadio Mane
  • 2018 – Mohamed Salah
  • 2017 – Mohamed Salah
  • 2016 – Riyad Mahrez
  • 2015 – Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
  • 2014 – Yaya Toure
  • 2013 – Yaya Toure
  • 2012 – Yaya Toure
  • 2011 – Yaya Toure
  • 2010 – Sameul Eto'o
  • 2009 – Didier Drogba
  • 2008 – Emmanuel Adebayor
  • 2007 – Frederic Kanoute
  • 2006 – Didier Drogba
  • 2005 – Samuel Eto'o
  • 2004 – Samuel Eto'o
  • 2003 – Samuel Eto'o
  • 2002 – El Hadji Diouf
  • 2001 – El Hadji Diouf
  • 2000 – Patrick M'Boma
  • 1999 – Nwankwo Kanu

This article was most recently revised and updated 9 months ago

All-round lover of the beautiful game. Massive football fan, supported Arsenal for decades for reasons that are unexplainable. One day we will win the Champions League!