Enyimba Star Clinches Prestigious Eunisell Boot Award

Enyimba Star Clinches Prestigious Eunisell Boot Award
Credit: @EnyimbaFC Twitter

Eunisell Limited, organisers of the prestigious annual Eunisell Boot award, in the early hours of Wednesday, June 28, 2023 announced Enyimba star, Chukwuemeka Obioma, as winner of the top goalscorer award for the just concluded 2022/23 Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) season.

Eunisell Boot Award inaugurated in 2018 by Eunisell, the West African largest independent chemical as well as oil and gas engineering solutions company, the Eunisell Boot Award seeks to instill greatness in players in the domestic top-flight of Nigerian football and celebrate their success story.

Eunisell placed a premium value of N200,000 for each goal scored by the top scorer of the NPFL in each season under review. Enyimba star, Chukwuemeka Obioma, scored 16 goals to emerge as highest goal-scorer in the just-concluded 2022/23 NPFL season and will receive N3.2 million as well as the imposing Eunisell replica boot.

The Enyimba hitman becomes the eighth player to win the Eunisell Boot Award as a confirmation of his goal-scoring prowess. Eunisell placed a premium value of N200,000 for each goal scored by the top scorer.

Group Managing Director of Eunisell, Chika Ikenga, applauded Obioma for his form during the season.

“Our passion for Nigerian football and players’ advancement is evident with our sponsorship of the Eunisell Boot. We are excited that players look forward to winning this award. Obioma’s story is worthy of celebration as he has made goal-scoring look like an easy task with two or more goals in a game. Two years ago (2021), he was unable to win the award despite scoring double digits. It is no surprise that his goals also contributed to the success of Enyimba”.

You will recall that Enyimba won a record 9th NPFL title last season, as Obioma's goals helped the People's Elephants win the title on goal difference over Remo Stars and Rivers United who both finished with the same points (9) as Enyimba in the 2022/23 league season

Past NPFL Players that Won the Eunisell Boot Award

  • Junior Lokosa: 19 goals – Kano Pillars, 2017/18 (Inaugural edition).
  • Sunusi Ibrahim: 10 goals (Joint winner) – Nasarawa United, 2018/19.
  • Mfon Udoh: 10 goals (Joint winner) – Akwa United, 2018/19.
  • Israel Abia: 12 goals – Rangers International, 2019/20
  • Silas Nwankwo: 19 goals (Joint winner) – Nasarawa United, 2020/21.
  • Charles Atshimene: 19 goals (Joint winner) – Akwa United, 2020/21.
  • Chijioke Akuneto: 19 goals – Rivers United, 2021/22
  • Chukwuemeka Obioma: 16 goals – Enyimba FC, 2022/23.

This article was most recently revised and updated 1 year ago

Joseph is a freelance writer who spends most of his time writing engaging football contents. Based in Nigeria, Joseph is a die-hard Real Madrid fan with over 8 years experience in the sports betting space. He has covered football match previews, predictions, and news across leagues in Africa and Europe.