Most Capped Super Eagles Players – All-Time Top 10 Listed

Most Capped Super Eagles Players

Who are the most capped Super Eagles players of all-time? Do you know them? Keep reading, I’ll list them out for you.

The nickname ‘Super Eagles of Nigeria’ started out from being the Red Devils. I bet you didn’t know that! That nickname was given prior to Nigeria’s independence in 1960 as a result of their red-topped kits.

SEE ALSO: Nigeria 1994 World Cup Squad – The Complete List

And then the Red Devils – which is what Manchester United are currently nicknamed – went on to be replaced as Green Eagles just after independence due to the Nigerian flag as well as the eagle which adorns Nigeria’s coat of arms.

The Nigerian national team has featured great players who have left unforgettable marks in the fine game of soccer.

Several players have donned the beautiful Green-White-Green shirt but there are some that have worn the Nigeria colour more than others.

I’m writing this piece so as to take you through the list of all-time Super Eagles players with the most caps.

SEE ALSO: Richest Footballer In Africa – See The Top 10 & Their Net Worth

A Brief History Of Caps

Now let me give some clarification about the word ‘most caps,’. That term is actually a metaphor for a player’s appearance – minus substitute appearances- at international matches.

So ‘Cap,’ is derived from British sport, dating back to the practice in the United Kingdom where they used to award a cap to every player in an international match of association football.

And so a player who has played x number of games for his team is said to have been capped x times or have won x caps.

Let’s see the all-time most capped Super Eagles players record below:

SEE ALSO: Football Club With Most Trophies In The World – Listed FULLY


1 Vincent Enyeama 101 0 2002–2015
Joseph Yobo 101 7 2001–2014
3 John Obi Mikel 87 6 2006–Present
4 Nwankwo Kanu 86 13 1994–2011
Mudashiru Lawal 86 11 1975–1985
6 Ahmed Musa 81 17 2010–Present
7 Jay-Jay Okocha 73 14 1993–2006
8 Peter Rufai 66 1 1983–1998
9 Peter Odemwingie 65 11 2002–2014
10 Finidi George 62 6 1991–2002
Elderson Echiéjilé 62 3 2009–Present

Greg Afamah

Written by Greg Afamah

Greg Afamah is a Sports content writer. He has many years of experience in Sports Writing. He was a writer for Opera News and is Editor-in-Chief at GoalBall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *