Super Eagles All-Time Top Goalscorers: Listed From 1971

Super Eagles All-Time Top Goalscorers: Listed From 1971
Credit: Icon Sport

Super Eagles all-time top goalscorers: Nigeria national football team is blessed with a plethora of attacking talent, with the biggest name of them all being Victor Osimhen.

The Napoli forward, 24, has been one of the best strikers in the world in the past few years.

In the just-concluded season, he performed brilliantly, leading Napoli to their first ever league title since 1990 and becoming the first African to win the Capocannoniere, the Italian Serie A award for the top scorer.

He recently scored his first goals for Nigeria Super Eagles in 2023. This list shows where the big man ranks among Super Eagles all-time top goalscorers greats, ranking all the way from 1971 till date.

SEE ALSO | Most Capped Super Eagles Players – All-Time Top 10 Listed

List of Super Eagles All-time Top Goalscorers

1. Rashidi Yekini – 37 goals

Toping the list of Super Eagles all-time top goalscorers, Rashidi Yekini, who did not have the kind of career that many who have passed through the national team had, but he was extremely efficient for the national team. The late, great striker is still considered as the best Nigerian to wear number 9.Β 

2. Segun Odegbami – 23 goals

“Mathematical Segun Odegbami” as he was called is still considered one of Nigeria's smartest players. His football brain was among the best in Africa during his active days and his wing play was ahead of his time. He racked up 46 appearances for Nigeria before retiring.

3. Victor Osimhen and Yakubu Ayegbeni – 21 goals

Victor Osimhen has solidified his position among the Super Eagles' all-time top goalscorers. The striker's ascent to the top tier was marked by a stellar display in Nigeria's opening AFCON game against Equatorial Guinea, where, in the 38th minute, he showcased his prowess with a stunning header to equalize the score.

In a mere 30 matches played, Osimhen, crowned the 2023 African Player of the Year, has impressively netted 21 goals, earning him a coveted spot in the Top 3 list of Super Eagles all-time top goalscorers.

He is only 16 goals away from Yekini's total and at the rate he is scoring, he needs another 31 games to catch up to the legendary striker, who also enjoys a similar goal-to-game ratio with 37 goals in 58 games.

Yakubu Aiyegbeni is famous for his horrific miss against South Korea in the 2010 FIFA World Cup but many Nigerians still remember “The Yak” for his goal-scoring ability.

He was a fierce striker who represented the Super Eagles jersey with all he had and was touted as the man who would overtake Yekini. He retired after 57 caps, however, failing to add to his 21 goals.

4. Ikechukwu Uche – 19 goals

Further in the list of Super Eagles all-time top goalscorers, Ikechukwu Uche, who is an underrated attacker whose performances in qualifiers were among the best in the continent. He helped Nigeria power through a number of World Cup and AFCON qualifiers with his clutch goals.

In tournaments, however, he played bit-part roles and many think he could have done a lot more if given more chances. He made 46 appearances for Nigeria.

5. Obafemi Martins – 18 goals

Obafemi Martins' fierceness, directness and incredible left foot are legendary among the skill sets of players who have worn the Nigeria national team jersey. He is also one of the most accomplished Super Eagles players, having played all across the world for various big teams and won a number of titles. He made 48 appearances for Nigeria.

6. Sunday Oyarekhua – 17 goals

Sunday Oyarekhua was a policeman turned footballer who was co-opted into the sport officially while playing for the recreational football team of the Nigeria Police Force in the 1960s. He would end up playing 28 games for Nigeria and scoring 17 goals in several tournaments and friendlies before returning to the police force, where he recently retired.


Other Names in the Super Eagles Top Scorer's List

Samson Siasia: 1984–1999 (16 Goals) (51 Caps)

Ahmed Musa: 2010–Till date (16 Goals) (106 Caps)

Julius Aghahowa: 2000–2007 (14 Goals) (32 Caps)

Jay Jay Okocha: 1993–2006 (14 Goals) (75 Caps)

Daniel Amokachi: 1990–1999 (13 Goals) (44 Caps)

Victor Obinna: 2005–2014 (12 Goals) (48 Caps)

Mudashiru Lawal: 1975–1985 (12 Goals) (86 Caps)

Nwankwo Kanu: 1994–2011 (12 Goals) (87 Caps)

Victor Moses: 2012-2018 (12 Goals) (38 Caps)

Kelechi Iheanacho: 2015-Till Date (11 Goals) (42 Caps)

Peter Odemwingie: 2002–2014 (10 Goals) (63 Caps)

Emmanuel Amunike: 1993–2001 (9 Goals) (27 Caps)

Emmanuel Emenike: 2011–2015 (9 Goals) (37 Caps)

Stephen Keshi: 1981–1995 (9 Goals) (64 Caps)

Benedict Akwuegbu: 2000–2005 (8 Goals) (30 Caps)

Victor Ikpeba: 1992–2002 (7 Goals) (31 Caps)

Joseph Yobo: 2001–2014 (7 Goals) (101 Caps)

John Utaka: 2002–2014 (6 Goals) (43 Caps)

Mutiu Adepoju: 1990–2002 (6 Goals) (48 Caps)

Finidi George: 1991–2002 (6 Goals) (62 Caps)

This article was most recently revised and updated 5 months ago

Rababe Koussaimi, a 22-year-old journalist, is deeply passionate about the world of sports. She grew up in a footballing environment, supporting both Bayern Munich and Wydad Athletic Club. She began her English journalism career by hosting a podcast for the first English radio station in Morocco. Currently, the Moroccan journalist channels her enthusiasm into writing and conducting extensive research, creating insightful and engaging content for GoalBall Live readers.