Super Falcons dominate CAF Player of the Year list

Super Falcons dominate CAF Player of the Year list
Photo by Icon sport

CAF has released the nominees for the 2023 Women's Player of the Year award, and Super Falcons players are well represented.

With the CAF awards on the horizon, the debates have hit a crescendo, with many Nigerians expecting their players to do well at the ceremony.

The Super Eagles and Super Falcons players have performed well in the year, and naturally, they have several names popping up on the list. The Super Falcons have seven players in the 30-woman list vying for the prestigious award.

Other countries with players on the list include South Africa, Morocco, Cameroon, Ghana and Malawi. Others are Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Namibia.

Super Falcons players on the 30-woman list

Super Falcons line up
Photo by Icon sport

The seven Super Falcons players that made it to CAF's 30-Woman list for the 2023 Women's Player of the Year award include perennial winner Asisat Oshoala, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Christy Ucheibe and Osinachi Ohale.

Others are Rasheedat Ajibade, Toni Payne and Uchenna Kanu.

The seven ladies had fantastic performances for club and country, especially with their displays at the 2023 FIFA Women's World Cup, where the Super Falcons lost only one game.

Their only loss was to the Three Lionesses in the quarter-finals. It came via penalties, making it more painful for the ladies.

The chances of the Super Falcons players winning

Asisat Oshoala

Can Super Falcons stra Oshoala win award again
Photo by Icon sport

The five-time winner is also highly favoured to win again. She was the only African woman nominated for the 2022 Women's Ballon d'Or Player of the Year award.

She also won the Primera División, UEFA Women's Champions League and the Supercopa de España Femenina.

Christy Ucheibe
She is a Benfica midfielder and helped the team win the 2022–23 Campeonato Nacional Feminino, Taça da Liga – 2022–23 and Supertaça de Portugal, 2023.

Osinachi Ohale
She is the oldest Super Falcons player. She scored a fantastic goal against hosts Australia at the 2023 World Cup, with her performance earning her the Player of the Match award.

Uchenna Kanu
The former U-17 player starrs for Racing Louisville and scored a goal at the World Cup. She had an inspiring tournament and could also win the award.

Chiamaka Nnadozie
The Paris FC goalkeeper had a phenomenal World Cup, including a penalty save. She was also dominant for her club and should win the Goalkeeper of the Year award.

Rasheedat Ajibade
She did not score for the Super Falcons at the World Cup but was inspirational for Atletico Madrid in Spain.

She helped the club win the Copa de la Reina: 2022–23.

Toni Payne
Toni Payne plays for Sevilla in Spain. The 28-year-old midfielder had a solid performance at the World Cup.

Other players that could win ahead of Super Falcons players

tabitha chawinga challenging Super Falcons players for award
Photo by Icon sport

Malawi striker Tabitha Chawinga is a top contender for the award. The Malawian forward scored 23 goals in 23 games for Inter Milan. On loan to PSG, she has scored two goals from three games.

Other challengers include Ghizlane Chebbak (Morocco), Thembi Kgatlana, Linda Motlhalo (South Africa) and Babara Banda (Zambia).

This article was most recently revised and updated 6 months ago

Chooka Izuegbuna is a Sports Journalist with 20 years of experience in print, TV and Radio. He has worked with some of the top media houses in Nigeria, including NTA Network, Channels TV, TVC, Silverbird TV and MITV. Chooka broke his sports reporting teeth with The Game Football Weekly in 2003 as a cartoonist and reporter. Chooka has a passion for football and has been a fan of Enugu Rangers (over 30 years) and Real Madrid (Since 1996).