Arsenal’s Europa League Squad Confirmed With 4 Big Names Axed

Arsenal’s Europa League squad will not be featuring four big names as they have been confirmed to have been axed.

According to the official UEFA website, the Gunners put together their line up of players eligible to take part in this season’s Europa League, with no place for Mesut Ozil, Sokratis Papastathopoulos, William Saliba or Gabriel Martinelli.

Martinelli misses out due to injury for the moment, but it’s a big call from manager Mikel Arteta to axe Ozil, Sokratis and Saliba.

Ozil has been a long-serving member of the Arsenal first-team, and was at one point one of the finest creative players in world football after a fine career with Real Madrid and the German national team.

Now, however, he’s been totally frozen out by the Gunners’ boss and seemingly doesn’t even stand a chance of playing in some of the less important games for Arsenal.

Sokratis is also an experienced defender who surely has something to offer the north Londoners, even if only as a backup player.

SEE ALSO | Cavani Addresses Cursed Superstition Of Wearing No7 Shirt At Man Utd

While promising youngster Saliba may also be disappointed that he’s not being considered for these games.

Arsenal’s Europa League Squad


  1. Bernd Leno
  2. Rúnar Rúnarsson
  3. Matt Macey
  4. James Hillson
  5. Dejan Iliev


  1. Héctor Bellerín
  2. Gabriel
  3. Rob Holding
  4. Cédric
  5. Shkodran Mustafi
  6. Calum Chambers
  7. Pablo Marí
  8. David Luiz
  9. Sead Kolašinac


  1. Kieran Tierney
  2. Dani Ceballos
  3. Willian
  4. Ainsley Maitland-Niles
  5. Thomas Partey
  6. Mohamed Elneny
  7. Granit Xhaka


  1. Alexandre Lacazette
  2. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
  3. Nicolas Pépé

SEE ALSO | How Much Jadon Sancho Will Cost Man Utd Next Summer

This article was most recently revised and updated 4 years ago