FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List Since Inception

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List Since Inception

From Guillermo Stabile to Miroslav Klose, to Harry Kane, my FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners list takes a look at all the finest players to have ever played the game and gone home with the Award.

What is Golden Boot in World Cup? How do you win the Golden Boot World Cup?

The Golden Shoe Award … as it used to be called, goes to the highest goalscorer of any FIFA World Cup year.

Before 1982, i.e. the period between 1930 and 1978, an Award was never given. The players then were just referred to and ranked as top goalscorers.

The first time an award was given was in 1982 and it was as at that time known as Golden Shoe.

Not until the 2010 World Cup hosted by an African country (South Africa) for the first time that the Award was rechristened Golden Boot.

SEE ALSO | Arsenal All Time Top Scorers Detailed And Listed Fully

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners

Since FIFA on its own also sometimes lists the top goalscorers of those years among the Golden Boot winners, then I can do same in my article. You don’t need to take me to the law courts for it. LOL…

The World Cup Golden Boot 2018 (adidas sponsored) went to England's Harry Kane with six goals.

SEE ALSO | Top 5 Richest Female Footballers In Nigeria And Their Net Worth

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners
Harry Kane Golden Boot

2010 World Cup Golden Boot was the turn of Germany's Thomas Muller with five goals. He wasn't the only scorer with that number of goals. You will see all others later in this article.

Thomas Muller Golden Boot
Thomas Muller Golden Boot

So then who won the Golden Boot Award at FIFA World Cup 2014?

A fine young teenage sensation, James Rodriguez made the 2014 World Cup Golden Boot his. As a midfielder, the Colombian scored six loud goals.

SEE ALSO | Top 10 Footballers Who Played For 2 Different Countries

James Rodriguez Golden Boot
James Rodriguez Golden Boot

Who has won the most World Cup Golden Boots?

No one.

Everyone's name on the list appears only once. No one's ever received the award more than once.

SEE ALSO | Best All-Time Super Eagles of Nigeria XI

World Cup – Top Goalscorers

1930 – Guillermo Stabile (Argentina) – 8 Goals

1934 – Oldrich Nejedly (Czechoslovakia) – 5 Goals

1938 – Leonidas (Brazil) – 7 Goals

1950 – Ademir (Brazil) – 8 Goals

1954 – Sandor Kocsis (Hungary) – 11 Goals

1958 – Just Fontaine (France) – 13 Goals

1962 – Florian Albert (Hungary), Garrincha (Brazil), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Union), Drazan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia), Leonel Sanchez (Chile), Vava (Brazil) – 4 Goals

1966 – Eusebio (Portugal) – 9 Goals

1970 – Gerd Muller (Germany) – 10 Goals

1974 – Grzegorz Lato (Poland) – 7 Goals

1978 – Mario Kempes (Argentina) – 6 Goals

SEE ALSO | Super Eagles All-Time Top Goalscorers: Listed From 1971

FIFA Golden Boot Winners List – Golden Shoe Award

1982 – Paolo Rossi (Italy) – 6 Goals

1986 – Gary Lineker (England) – 6 Goals

1990 – Salvator Schillachi (Italy) – 6 goals

1994 – Oleg Salenko (Russia), Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – 6 Goals

1998 – Davor Suker (Croatia) – 6 Goals

2002 – Ronaldo (Brazil) – 8 Goals

2006 – Miroslav Klose (Germany) – 5 Goals

SEE ALSO | Nigeria 1994 World Cup Squad – The Complete List

FIFA World Cup Golden Boot Winners List – Golden Boot Award

2010 – Diego Forlan (Uruguay), Thomas Muller (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) – 5 Goals

2014 – James Rodriguez (Colombia) – 6 Goals

2018 – Harry Kane (England) – 6 Goals

To conclude my FIFA World Cup Golden Boot winners list, here is what happens if Golden Boot is tied in the World Cup.

Once another player(s) has the same number of goals, the tie-breaker (since 1994) goes to the player with fewer goals scored from penalties.

If after that there is still more than one player with the same number of goals, the next tie breaker goes to the person with more assists. There’s a BUT here … FIFA’s Technical Study Group will be the decider if an assist is to be counted as such.

SEE ALSO | AFCON Golden Boot Winners: All Past And Present Awardees Listed

But if there is still more than one player, the tie-breaker goes to the player who has played the least amount of time, which translates to a higher goal average. This has been applied since 2006.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago