MTN8 winners list: Who has the most titles? Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns

MTN8 winners list: Who has the most titles? Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns
Photo by Icon sport

The MTN8 winners list is another bone to grind for many followers of South African football.

Football is an endless chase for titles as fans look for the edge in bragging rights.

South African football is exciting and filled with the usual razzmatazz that characterizes the game in Europe.

It provides edge-of-the-seat excitement, with rarely a dull moment.

So, while it is clear that Mamelodi Sundowns are the indisputable heavyweights in the PSL, how do they fare in the MTN8?

Who has won the competition featuring the top eight in the PSL the most? It is what we will address with this piece and lay to bed the argument.

The MTN8 winners list would hand the fans of the club with the most titles the bragging rights.

MTN8 winners list – who has more titles?

mtn8 winners list kaizer chiefs 2014 winners
Credit @RulasheT Twitter

The battle is usually between the three heavyweights of the PSL – Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates.

Before we go far, letโ€™s remind you that Orlando Pirates are the defending champions and on course to retain their title.

The Bucs secured a 5-0 thrashing of Sekhukune United in the quarter-final to book a date with Stellenbosch FC on September 1, 2023.

The other top dogs are Kaizer Chiefs and Mamelodi Sundowns. They will do battle in the second semi-final.

So, to the elephant in the room. Who has more MTN8 titles?

The competition in the MTN8 is stiff, but Mamelodi Sundowns have shown that this competition is not their forte.

The Brazilians are way behind Amakhosi and the Buccaneers on the MTN8 winners list.

ICONSPORT 69625923 scaled
Photo by Icon sport

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates dominate the MTN8 winners list and have won the title 26 times between them.

Since its inception in 1972, Kaizer Chiefs have won the competition 15 times but have only won it twice as MTN8.

Following Amakhosi on the MTN8 winners list is Orlando Pirates. The Buccaneers have won it eleven times.

Since the name change in 2008 to MTN8, Bucs have won it more times than any other side – four.

Mamelodi Sundowns are third on the list with four titles and one MTN8.

BP Top 8

Kaizer Chiefs – 12
Orlando Pirates – 7
Mamelodi Sundowns – 2
Wits University – 2
Moroka Swallows – 2

SAA Super 8

Kaizer Chiefs – 1
Mamelodi Sundowns – 1
SuperSport United – 1
Jomo Cosmos – 1
Bloemfontein Celtic – 1


Orlando Pirates – 4
Kaizer Chiefs – 4
SuperSport United – 2
Golden Arrows – 1
Moroka Swallows – 1
Platinum Stars – 1
Ajax Cape Town – 1
Bidvest – 1
Cape Town City – 1
Mamelodi Sundowns – 1

This article was most recently revised and updated 11 months ago

Chooka Izuegbuna is a Sports Journalist with 20 years of experience in print, TV and Radio. He has worked with some of the top media houses in Nigeria, including NTA Network, Channels TV, TVC, Silverbird TV and MITV. Chooka broke his sports reporting teeth with The Game Football Weekly in 2003 as a cartoonist and reporter. Chooka has a passion for football and has been a fan of Enugu Rangers (over 30 years) and Real Madrid (Since 1996).