Nigeria Professional Football League Champions Listed Since Inception

Nigeria Professional Football League Champions Listed Since Inception

The Nigeria Professional Football League Champions have varied from one club to another over the years.

It was in 1972 that the NPFL began but was then known as Nigerian Premier League.

Nigeria’s top flight domestic football kicked off with only six teams that season and the Mighty Jets of Jos picked the inaugural title. Sadly since then, they’ve never won the league again. Today, the number of NPFL teams have increased to 24.

The last Nigeria Premier League champions are Enyimba International F.C., who happens to be one of the richest club in Nigeria.

Enyimba are also the team that have dominated the league over the years with eight league wins. They are closely followed by Enugu Rangers with seven titles and Iwuanyanwu Nationale of Owerri (Now Heartland FC) with five titles.

Iwuanyanwu Nationale are the first and only side, in the history of the League, to have won the NPFL trophy our consecutive times between 1987-1990.

SEE ALSO | Nigeria League Highest Paid Player (2020) – See The Top Five

List of Nigeria Professional Football League Champions


2019:     Enyimba Aba

2018:     No Champion

2017:     Plateau United

2016:     Enugu Rangers 7

2015:     Enyimba Aba

2014:     Kano Pillars

2013:     Kano Pillars

2012:     Kano Pillars

2011:     Dolphins FC

2010:     Enyimba Aba

2009:     Bayelsa United

2008:     Kano Pillars

2007:     Enyimba Aba

2006:     Ocean Boys

2005:     Enyimba Aba

2004:     Dolphins FC

2003:     Enyimba Aba

2002:     Enyimba Aba

2001:     Enyimba Aba

2000:     Julius Berger FC

1999:     Lobi Stars

1998:     Shooting Stars FC

1997:     Eagle Cement Port Harcourt

1996:     Udoji United FC Awka

1995:     Shooting Stars FC

1994:     BCC Lions

1993:     Iwuanyanwu Nationale 5

1992:     Stationery Stores Lagos

1991:     Julius Berger FC

1990:     Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1989:     Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1988:     Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1987:     Iwuanyanwu Nationale

1986:     Leventis United Ibadan

1985:     New Nigeria Bank Benin City

1984:     Enugu Rangers

1983:     Shooting Stars FC

1982:     Enugu Rangers

1981:     Enugu Rangers

1980:     Shooting Stars FC

1979:     Bendel Insurance

1978:     Racca Rovers Kano

1977:     Enugu Rangers

1976:     Shooting Stars FC

1975:     Enugu Rangers

1974:     Enugu Rangers

1973:     Bendel Insurance

1972:     Mighty Jets Jos

SEE ALSO | Nigeria Premier League Top Scorer: Complete List (1990 Till Date)

Those are all the NPFL champions since the league began in the country.

This article was most recently revised and updated 3 years ago